Magazine - Real Life (CD)

Magazine - Real Life (CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
December orders
Need it for the 25th? December Post updates
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Pioneering post-punk debut from MAGAZINE.


Track listing

  1. Definitive Gaze
  2. My Tulpa
  3. Shot by Both Sides
  4. Recoil
  5. Burst
  6. Motorcade
  7. The Great Beautician in the Sky
  8. The Light Pours Out of Me
  9. Parade
  10. Shot by Both Sides (Original Single Version)
  11. My Mind Ain't So Open
  12. Touch and Go
  13. Goldfinger


Punk's untethered energy is rigidly controlled, run through arrangements that are tightly wound, herky-jerky, unpredictable, proficiently dynamic. The rapidly careening "Shot by Both Sides" (up there with PiL's "Public Image" as an indelible post-punk single) and the slowly unfolding "Parade" (the closest thing to a ballad, its hook is "Sometimes I forget that we're supposed to be in love") are equally ill-at-ease. The dynamism is all the more perceptible when Dave Formula's alternately flighty and assaultive keyboards are present: the opening "Definitive Gaze," for instance, switches between a sci-fi love theme and the score for a chase scene. As close as the band comes to upstaging Devoto, the singer is central, with his live wire tendencies typically enhanced, rather than truly outshined, by his mates. The interplay is at its best in "The Light Pours out of Me," a song that defines Magazine more than "Shot by Both Sides," while also functioning as the closest the band got to making an anthem. - 5/5