The Gun Club - Fire of Love (2003 Reissue) (LP) The Gun Club - Fire of Love (2003 Reissue) (LP)

The Gun Club - Fire of Love (2003 Reissue) (LP)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Someone knows a better cell
Where the old north wind blows through southeast hell.

One of the greatest LA punk records; The Gun Club were the first and best band to merge punk rock with blues and southern roots music. Fire of Love was released in 1981 with all original material written by Jeffrey Lee Pierce, For the Love of Ivy by Pierce and Kid Congo Powers (The Cramps, Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - an early member but left before recording). Preaching the Blues (Robert Johnson) and Cool Drink of Water (Tommy Johnson) are traditional/cover songs arranged by Pierce.

Inner sleeve features artwork from a later reissue, and a short history written by Lindsay Hutton.


Track listing

  1. Sex Beat
  2. Preaching the Blues
  3. Promise Me
  4. She's Like Heroin to Me
  5. For the Love of Ivy
  6. Fire Spirit
  7. Ghost on the Highway
  8. Jack on Fire
  9. Black Train
  10. Cool Drink of Water
  11. Goodbye Johnny


The Gun Club's debut is the watermark for all post-punk roots music. This features the late Jeffrey Lee Pierce's swamped-out brand of roiling rock, swaggerific hell-bound blues, and gothic country. With Pierce's wailing high lonesome slide guitar twinned with Ward Dotson's spine-shaking riffs and the solid yet off-the-rails rhythm section of bassist Rob Ritter and drummer Terry Graham, The Gun Club burst out of L.A. in the early '80s with a bone to pick and a mountain to move -- and they accomplished both on their debut album. - 5/5