The Gun Club - Miami (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) The Gun Club - Miami (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)

The Gun Club - Miami (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Includes bonus disc with a 12 song live recording at the Continental Club, Buffalo, NY in 1982!

THE GUN CLUB were one of the early punk bands from LA and helped to shape the sound of underground LA and Hollywood music in the 1980's with X, TEX AND THE HORSEHEADS and THE BLASTERS. Led by vocalist and songwriter Jeffrey Lee Pierce, THE GUN CLUB merged late-seventies punk with traditional blues and country to create a unique, influential and lasting sound.

Miami is the second GUN CLUB LP released a year after their most recognised album Fire of Love (1981).


Track listing

  1. Carry Home
  2. Like Calling Up Thunder
  3. Brother and Sister
  4. Run Through the Jungle
  5. A Devil in the Woods
  6. Texas Serenade
  7. Watermelon Man
  8. Bad Indian
  9. John Hardy
  10. The Fire of Love
  11. Sleeping in Blood City
  12. Mother of Earth


Going for a higher, more desolate sound, frontman and slide player Jeffrey Lee Pierce and his band were literally on fire. The songs here, from "Carry Home," "Like Calling Up Thunder," "Devil in the Woods," "Watermelon Man," "Bad Indian," and "Texas Serenade," among others, centered themselves on a mutant form of country music that met the post-punk ethos in the desert, fought and bloodied each other, and decided to stay together. This is hardcore snake-charming music (as in water moccasins not cobras), evil, smoky, brash, and libidinally uttered. Their spooky version of an already creepy tune by Creedence Clearwater Revival, "Run Through the Jungle" runs the gamut from sexual nightmare to voodoo ritual gone awry. Finally, Pierce and company pull out all the roots and reveal them for what they are: "John Hardy," is a squalling punk-blues, with the heart of the country in cardiac arrest. - 5/5