Dinosaur Jr - Hand it Over (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD) Dinosaur Jr - Hand it Over (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD)

Dinosaur Jr - Hand it Over (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD)

Regular price £15.99
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Formed in 1984, Dinosaur Jr carved a singular path through the latter half of the 1980s and first half of the 1990s, issuing a number of highly influential albums in the process. "Hand It Over", their seventh record, appeared in the spring of 1997 following a lengthy absence, and would prove to be the band's final album-length offering for a decade.
Performed primarily by J Mascis, "Hand It Over" appeared at a time of declining international interest in American alternative rock, but nevertheless received widespread approval and appreciation amongst critics and reviewers. The album was accompanied, unusually, by an EP of non-album songs recorded for the Matt Dillon movie Grace Of My Heart and, later, a vinyl only 'I'm Insane' 7" single, all of which are collected here alongside a previously unreleased concert recording made in Stockholm and two tracks performed for ABC TV in Australia.
Accompanied by in-depth sleevenotes from Mojo's Keith Cameron (based on recent and exclusive interviews with J Mascis), this edition provides a final view of a band about to disappear from the limelight but still as engaging and powerful as ever.

Deluxe Expanded Edition

  • Remastered and expanded edition of the 7th album and final major label release
  • Includes the Take a Run at the Sun ep, plus previously unreleased tv recordings and a complete live show
  • Liner notes by Mojo Magazines' Keith Cameron, based on exclusive new interviews with J Mascis


Track listing

  1. I Don't Think
  2. Never Bought It
  3. Nothin's Goin On
  4. I'm Insane
  5. Can't We Move This
  6. Alone
  7. Sure Not Over You
  8. Loaded
  9. Mick
  10. I Know Yer Insane
  11. Gettin' Rough
  12. Gotta Know
  13. Take a Run at the Sun (Take A Run At The Sun EP) Bonus
  14. Don't You Think It's Time (Take A Run At The Sun EP) Bonus
  15. The Pickle Song (Take A Run At The Sun EP) Bonus
  16. I Misunderstood Bonus
  17. What We Do Is Secret Bonus
  18. Never Bought It (Live) Bonus
  19. Sure Not Over You (Live) Bonus
  20. Out There (Live) Bonus
  21. Never Bought It (Live) Bonus
  22. Repulsion (Live) Bonus
  23. Feel The Pain (Live) Bonus
  24. Get Me (Live) Bonus
  25. Freak Scene (Live) Bonus
  26. Sludgefeast (Live) Bonus
  27. Alone (Live) Bonus
  28. What Else Is New (Live) Bonus


Upon initial release, the record was all but buried by a complete lack of promotion, and it would be ten years before the Dinosaur namesake was reactivated with a reunion of the classic lineup. Despite poor sales, Hand It Over was a hidden highlight, with more good songs, gnarly shredding, and wildly ambitious ideas than most other chapters of Dinosaur Jr.'s ever-weird major-label period. - 4/5