Dinosaur Jr - Where You Been (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD) Dinosaur Jr - Where You Been (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD)

Dinosaur Jr - Where You Been (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD)

Regular price £15.99
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Formed in 1984, Dinosaur Jr carved a singular path through the latter half of the 1980s and early 1990s, issuing a number of highly influential albums in the process before finding a home with Sire Records. "Where You Been", their fifth record, emerged in 1993, at the height of enthusiasm for grunge and the alternative American rock scene the band had long been part of.
Produced by a new line-up of the group (longtime drummer Murph and new bassist Mike Johnson completing the three-piece), the album became the band's most successful up to that point, reaching #50 in the US (where it sold over a quarter of a million copies) and #10 in the UK album charts, and spawning the hit single 'Start Choppin'.
Released to unanimously positive reviews, and containing many tracks that would become staples and fan favourites, "Where You Been" continued Dinosaur Jr's global ascent, being issued simultaneously across the US, Europe, Australasia, Asia and South America.
Collected together here with related B-sides, BBC session recordings and a previously unreleased live recording made at St Paul Civic Centre in June 1993, and accompanied by in-depth sleevenotes from Mojo's Keith Cameron (based on recent and exclusive interviews with J Mascis), this edition provides a glimpse of a band in rampant form riding a hard-earned wave of popularity and credibility.

Deluxe Expanded Edition

  • Remastered and expanded edition of the much loved 5th album
  • Includes related B-sides, BBC session tracks and a previously unreleased live recording
  • Liner notes by Mojo Magazines' Keith Cameron, based on exclusive new interviews with J Mascis


Track listing

  1. Out There
  2. Start Choppin
  3. What Else Is New
  4. On the Way
  5. Not the Same
  6. Get Me
  7. Drawerings
  8. Hide
  9. Goin Home
  10. I Ain't Sayin
  11. Hide (Live) Bonus
  12. Keeblin' Bonus
  13. What Else Is New (Live) Bonus
  14. Hot Burrito #2 Bonus
  15. Quest (acoustic) Bonus
  16. Turnip Farm Bonus
  17. Forget It Bonus
  18. Keeblin Bonus
  19. Missing Link Bonus
  20. Noon At Dawn (BBC John Peel sessIon) Bonus
  21. Hide (BBC John Peel sessIon) Bonus
  22. Get Me (BBC John Peel sessIon) Bonus
  23. Keeblin (BBC John Peel sessIon) Bonus
  24. Severed Lips (BBC Evening Session) Bonus
  25. Thumb (BBC Evening Session) Bonus
  26. Tarpit (Live, previously unreleased) Bonus
  27. Budge (Live, previously unreleased) Bonus
  28. Start Choppin (Live, previously unreleased) Bonus
  29. Drawerings (Live, previously unreleased) Bonus
  30. Raisins (Live, previously unreleased) Bonus
  31. Thumb (Live, previously unreleased) Bonus
  32. Out There (Live, previously unreleased) Bonus
  33. Sludgefeast (Live, previously unreleased) Bonus


By the time Where You Been surfaced, Seattle had completely exploded, and given that Dinosaur Jr.'s sound, attitude, and more were as proto-slacker as could be, the temptation must have been great to cash in. But J Mascis stuck to his guns, and there's little about Where You Been that would have seemed out of place on Green Mind or even some earlier records. - 4/5