Dinosaur Jr - Without a Sound (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD) Dinosaur Jr - Without a Sound (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD)

Dinosaur Jr - Without a Sound (2019 Reissue) (Deluxe Expanded Edition) (Digipak 2CD)

Regular price £15.99
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Formed in 1984, Dinosaur Jr carved a singular path through the latter half of the 1980s and early 1990s, issuing a number of highly influential albums in the process before finding a home with Sire Records. Without A Sound, their sixth record, emerged in the summer of 1994, in the wake of personal bereavement and the departure of longtime drummer and founder member Murph.
Performed primarily by J Mascis, Without A Sound continued the bands growth in popularity and commercial achievement, reaching #44 in the US (their highest ever album placing there) and featuring the hit singles Feel The Pain and I Dont Think So.
Released to positive reviews, Without A Sound also took Dinosaur Jr around the world, including dates in Australia, New Zealand and Japan, and into the mainstream as the group contributed Blah to the hit US TV show Melrose Place.
Collected together with related B-sides, unreleased mixes and a complete live recording made in London in 1994, and accompanied by in-depth sleevenotes from Mojos Keith Cameron (based on recent and exclusive interviews with J Mascis), this edition provides a glimpse of a band at the height of their international appeal and accessibility.

Deluxe Expanded Edition

  • Remastered and expanded edition of the hit 6th album
  • Includes related B-sides, previously unreleased instrumentals and mixes, and a complete BBC live recording
  • Liner notes by Mojo Magazines' Keith Cameron, based on exclusive new interviews with J Mascis


Track listing

  1. Feel the Pain
  2. I Don't Think So
  3. Yeah Right
  4. Outta Hand
  5. Grab It
  6. Even You
  7. Mind Glow
  8. Get Out of This
  9. On the Brink
  10. Seemed Like the Thing to Do
  11. Over Your Shoulder
  12. Get Out of This (No Words Just Solo) Bonus
  13. Blah Bonus
  14. I Don't Think So (Previously unreleased) Bonus
  15. Outta Hand (Previously unreleased) Bonus
  16. Get Out of This (Previously unreleased) Bonus
  17. On The Brink (Previously unreleased) Bonus
  18. Seemed Like The Thing To Do (Previously unreleased) Bonus
  19. Freak Scene (Live) Bonus
  20. Out There (Live) Bonus
  21. Get Me (Live) Bonus
  22. Not You Again (Live) Bonus
  23. Grab It (Live) Bonus
  24. Feel The Pain (Live) Bonus
  25. Little Fury Things (Live) Bonus
  26. What Else Is New (Live) Bonus
  27. Quest (Live) Bonus
  28. Thumb (Live) Bonus
  29. Sludgefeast (Live) Bonus


On Without a Sound, J is struggling with many things -- personal sadness, insecurity regarding the band's future, a shifting musical climate -- but the one thing that remains rock solid is his guitar playing and ability to write songs that break a heart as easily as they break guitar strings. It may not be the best Dinosaur album or the most exciting, either, but there's enough growth, tenderness, and good old guitar mangling here to make it well worth exploring. - 4/5