Exhumation - Opus Death (CD)

Exhumation - Opus Death (CD)

Regular price £12.00 Sale price £9.00
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Death metal by EXHUMATION deserves the term "classical". It is sinister, clanging and evil. The East Asian roots are undeniable, but now the music is darker than ever before. The album offers an improved sound quality and reminds the listener of the legendary MAYHEM line-up, early DEICIDE or the occult songs of UNAUSSPRECHLICHEN KULTEN. Modern metal tends to go ways not everyone is fond of. But change is not always equal to more progression or mixing of genres.
Now EXHUMATION's second opus is ready, and it is colder and more pitiless than the first release. Still it relies on its East Asian roots; but now they are buried underneath a thick layer of classical death metal which has an uncanny resemblance to the black metal of the late 80s.


Track listing

  1. Soul Wanders
  2. Upon Our Hordes
  3. Witching Evil
  4. Possessed
  5. The Sleeping Darkness
  6. Graveyard Alike
  7. Labyrinth of Fire
  8. Ironheart
  9. Hymn of Death
  10. Lullabyss


...an extreme metal gem crafted in the style of the mid-80s, refined with touches of Altars of Madness, Scream Bloody Gore and perhaps a bit of Deathcrush as well. It's an interesting departure from the band's previous album, Hymn to Your God, which contained a much more polished, even technical death metal sound, with a shade of the classic "Sunlight" sound mixed in as well. While all these variants of death metal have "had their day" so to speak, the work of Exhumation shows that the work of those days is still worth pushing into the future. - 5/5