Gehenna - First Spell (2014 Reissue) (CD)

Gehenna - First Spell (2014 Reissue) (CD)

£14.00 Sale price
Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

GEHENNA saw the light of day already back in 1993 and are one of the original founders of true Norwegian black metal. With 6 albums and 2 EP's on their soul scarred conscience, they have made an profound impact on today's black metal scene. GEHENNA has explored the boundaries of the genre but always stayed true, no doubt one of the main reasons for their cult-like status. Now its time to re-release their old classics.


Track listing

  1. The Shivering Voice of the Ghost
  2. Unearthly Loose Palace
  3. Angelwings and Ravenclaws
  4. The Conquering of Hirsir
  5. Morningstar
  6. Midwinter Forest
  7. A Witch Is Born
  8. Night of the Serpent's Judgement
  9. Intro
  10. Two Demons Eight Spirits
  11. Black Seared Heart
  12. Angelwings and Ravenclaws
  13. The Chariots That Carried Her to the Grave
  14. Outro I & II


First Spell is perhaps not the best output for Gehenna overall, but I feel like this would secure them a spot on that second tier roster of Norwegian bands who managed some success through the osmosis of novelty in the mid-90s. First Spell is slow and beautiful, traits that are not always appreciated by a chunk of the black metal fanbase, but it's an authentic and enduring, proper introduction to a band about to embark on their most important journeys. - 4/5