Unholy - The Second Ring of Power (2011 Reissue) (CD)

Unholy - The Second Ring of Power (2011 Reissue) (CD)

Regular price £11.99 Sale price £8.99
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

UNHOLY, from Finland, formed in 1988 and were among the first doom metal bands from the country. In the band's earlier years, starting under the moniker of HOLY HELL, their style began as more a black / death / doom metal mix but progressed to a style of atmospheric, experimental doom metal. UNHOLY recorded 4 albums throughout their career before disbanding in 2002 and leaving a legacy as a very influential and legendary act in the Finnish doom metal scene who are still highly respected today, alongside other classic Finnish acts such as THERGOTHON.

The Second Ring of Power was the band's second studio album, and continued the boundary breaking approach to experimental doom metal which the band had established with debut album, From the Shadows, mixed with strong atmospherics and unusual structures. UNHOLY has remained a cult act over the years with a recent surge in interest, as the band announce a possible comeback in 2012.

This edition of The Second Ring of Power is a dream come true for fans, as the band themselves have provided footage of a rare live performance in Imatra, Finland from 1994, featuring classic UNHOLY tracks.


Track listing

  1. The Second Ring of Power
  2. Languish for Bliss
  3. Lady Babylon
  4. Neverending Day
  5. Dreamside
  6. Procession of Black Doom
  7. Covetous Glance
  8. Air
  9. Serious Personality Disturbance and Deep Anxiety
  10. The Second Ring of Power (Live) Bonus DVD
  11. Languish for Bliss (Live) Bonus DVD
  12. Gray Blow (Live) Bonus DVD
  13. Air (Live) Bonus DVD
  14. Lady Babylon (Live) Bonus DVD
  15. Dreamside (Live) Bonus DVD
  16. Covetous Glance (Live) Bonus DVD
  17. Time has Gone (Live) Bonus DVD


The genius song-writing of the band shines for one more time and that mourning light is so vivid that even the blind can see it and weep in silence. Sounds of dismay, menacing serenity, death-like nightmarish visions and depression surround the listener once again with their intensity and affection that there's no way out, you follow willingly having no other option or way to go. High-quality and deeply inspired, but above all unique, doom metal is what Unholy have to offer and it's not difficult to understand why they are amongst the best names of the scene! All the instruments contribute in the most appropriate way into the fabulous final outcome and you won't complain about any of them since they play their role wonderfully. The production is good and this is a big plus, making the already great compositions sound even better, haunting the listener. - 5/5