Behemoth - ...from the Pagan Vastlands (2011 Reissue) (Digipak CD)

Behemoth - ...from the Pagan Vastlands (2011 Reissue) (Digipak CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

There had been a long hard road out of hell until the cursed day when the furious intensity of the Eastern beast, set up by Nergal, the main man behind the band, struck the world in mid 1991. Following the paths of the ancient heroes like VENOM, early FROST or first Norwegian black metal acts, BEHEMOTH started their unearthly existence with a couple of raw and primitive rehearsal tapes (Endless Damnation) and demos (The Return of the Northern Moon), the most significant of which was the second one - From the Pagan Vastlands (1993), showing the growing potential of the main composer / writer. This tape was released by polish label Pagan Rec. and later on by infamous American Wild Rags which pressed this stuff on CD. Signing with a minor Italian company Entropy rec. the band had the chance to record their debut release, a mini album entitled And the Forests Dream Eternally (1994) followed by the full length with Polish underground label Pagan records.


Track listing

  1. From Hornedlands to Lindisfarne
  2. Thy Winter Kingdom
  3. Summoning (Of the Ancient Ones)
  4. The Dance of the Pagan Flames
  5. Blackvisions of the Almighty
  6. Fields of Haar-Meggido
  7. Deathcrush (Mayhem cover)


Of the immediate second wave of black metal, this is one of the better options. Simple and often unsurprising but aesthetically beautiful and rhythmically well arranged. - 4/5