Katatonia - Discouraged Ones (2007 Reissue) (Digipak CD)

Katatonia - Discouraged Ones (2007 Reissue) (Digipak CD)

£11.99 Sale price
Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

KATATONIA's third album of sublime, haunting rock / metal.
Discouraged Ones was KATATONIA's third album, originally released in 1998. The band was formed in Stockholm, Sweden in 1991 by Jonas Renkse and Anders Nyström & have risen from their early beginnings in dark death / gothic doom metal to become one of the leading acts of the metallic rock / prog scene.
Discouraged Ones was recorded in 1997 at the infamous Sunlight Studios by Fred Estby and Tomas Skogsberg (ENTOMBED, DISMEMBER). The album saw a new direction change with the epic compositions of old replaced with stripped down, compact structures to make room for new vocal harmonies courtesy of Jonas Renkse (who also played drums on the album), putting an end to the growling vocal style from prior releases and giving the band a broader appeal.
This was seen as somewhat of a breakthrough album for Katatonia which undoubtedly planted the seeds, stylistically, of what the band evolved into & represent today. Discouraged Ones is a pinnacle of dark, gothic rock / metal excellence combined with ethereal, trance-like intensity.


Track listing

  1. I Break
  2. Stalemate
  3. Deadhouse
  4. Relention
  5. Cold Ways
  6. Gone
  7. Last Resort
  8. Nerve
  9. Saw You Drown
  10. Instrumental
  11. Distrust
  12. Quiet World
  13. Scarlet Heavens


Isolation, solitude, and the desire to not want to be a part of the outside world. The stillness of night. The heaviness of lonely silence. These things are the essence of Katatonia and Discouraged Ones is the soundtrack. - 5/5