Liner notes: Remmirath - Polis Rouge

Features -

Liner notes: Remmirath - Polis Rouge

Written by: As

  1. The Will Behind the Colossus

    Just a short intro setting the untrve tone for the album. Saxophones are not very unusual in metal anymore, but we thought it would fit the urban atmosphere we tried to create with the album. In the background, you can hear authentic sounds from a factory where our bass player used to work at the time.

  2. Replacing the Sun

    About mankind worshipping speed and the illusion of perpetual linear progress. Many fools believe that we live in the best of times, because hey, we got iPads and we are able to travel the stars. Those who exceed their minds beyond the primitive material plane already know that we are on the verge of the End times.

  3. N.W.O. Neverland

    Our conspiracy theory song. No Alex Jones or David Icke stuff, just a simple and direct lyric that could accompany the movie They Live. It speaks about Paris Hilton in the beginning. I once grabbed some tabloid paper and she was there on the front page, scratching her vagina in a swim suit. Breaking news, sheep!

  4. A Little Trip to the Stars

    The most personal song of ours and my favourite lyric. It tells about a couple of nights in summer 2005 that we spent with a few of our friends inside a cottage surrounded by the woods. A rural idyll if you wish. In the end it describes how we are returning to the city in a morning train, which takes us "so far from miracles". The accoustic guitars slowly fade out and the electronic sounds of the next track brings us back into the brutal urban world.

  5. La figurine plastique

    Our tribute to Kraftwerk. And to the mystique of the city at night. Walking the lonesome streets and gazing into the illuminated shop windows, with plastic mannequins which stare at you with their empty, artificial eyes. However we loathe the trappings of the modern world, at the same time we find ourselves fascinated with it's peculiar aesthetics and twisted charm.

  6. Polis Rouge

    The heart of the album, more or less continuing the theme of urban isolation and fascination with the atmosphere of a nocturnal city. This is the first time we entered the psychedelic rock territory, which we are exploring a lot more today.

  7. What Remains After Us

    Continuing the message of "Replacing the Sun", the song tells about humanity limping across the edge of the Abyss, no longer having a meaning of life in a dystopian, transhumanist world where there is no more purity and spirituality left. Our science and arts are worthless and the Earth will devour us to grow a new skin. It ends with a positive thought though: "still it is so beautiful to stand here with you, at the end of all. That is what remains after us." There is humanity left in humans, but their beloved civilisation needs to become extinct, so the world will get healthy again. Connoisseurs of modern classical music might spot a György Ligeti sample in the second half of the song.

    Requiem (György Ligeti)
  8. Rainy Friday

    The most sappy song and my least favourite today, after 5 years. Cure fans might enjoy it though. It is almost fully instrumental, but it's basically about a lonely (and rainy) Friday spent at home, watching the rain pouring outside and thinking of someone you will probably never meet again.