Melechesh - Sphynx (CD) Melechesh - Sphynx (CD)

Melechesh - Sphynx (CD)

Regular price £10.00
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

MELECHESH's third studio album.


Track listing

  1. Of Mercury and Mercury
  2. Secrets of Sumerian Sphynxology
  3. Annunaki's Golden Thrones
  4. Apkallu Counsel
  5. Tablets of Fate
  6. Triangular Tattvic Fire
  7. The Arrival Ritual
  8. Incendium Between Mirage and Time
  9. Purifier of the Stars
  10. Caravans to Ur


Main songwriter, vocalist, and guitarist Ashmedi masterfully and logically arranges every track on Sphynx with his ear tweaked for maximum metallic devastation, and he consistently hits the sweet spot between classic thrash and forward-thinking death-prog with every riff (no exaggeration). Every track boasts sophisticated arrangements and lyrical excursions, making it difficult to pick out highlights (again, no exaggeration), although "Annunaki's Golden Throne" and "Apkallu Counsel" are exemplary, offering dizzying, high-velocity tempos and lickety-split time changes; however, the band wields speed with a samurai-like sense of precision and grace, keeping the listener in the center of a disorienting whirlwind while maintaining a dynamic sense of melody within compellingly complex arrangements. - 5/5