1349 - Revelations of the Black Flame (CD)

1349 - Revelations of the Black Flame (CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Norway's 1349 return with their brand new album Revelations of the Black Flame a blackened journey that encompasses black metal, dark ambient, noise, industrial and the soundtrack to a twisted David Lynch film. This album sees the band toning back on the balls to the wall blasting speed of previous albums and trying something crawling, darker and altogether more mature. With this album the band have realized that to truly capture the aural essence of evil you need contrast and time for the musical soundscapes to lull you into a false sense of security so when the black metal does kick in you're dragged bodily into what can only be described as a nightmare. The new album features additional production by legendary Tom G Warrior of CELTIC FROST.


Track listing

  1. Invocation
  2. Serpentine Sibilance
  3. Horns
  4. Maggot Fetus... Teeth Like Thorns
  5. Misanthropy
  6. Uncreation
  7. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun (Pink Floyd cover)
  8. Solitude
  9. At the Gate...


This 2009 release is a major departure from 2005's Hellfire, a ferocious sledgehammer of an album that didn't have much in the way of nuance but was good for pure, unmitigated exhilaration. However, there is nuance galore on Revelations of the Black Flame, which has a black metal orientation but gives 1349 a definite makeover by incorporating elements of industrial metal, alternative metal, doom metal and ambient electronica. - 4/5