Absu - Absu (Special Edition) (CD + DVD)

Absu - Absu (Special Edition) (CD + DVD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Special edition includes bonus DVD with a live show on 19 June 2009, Le Petit Campus, Montreal, Canada.

American extreme metal royalty returns with their first new studio album in eight years. The self-titled recording features the newly expanded quartet with an all-star array of guest musicians. Belgian artist Kris Verwimp handled the album's surreal packaging while the sonic aspects were directed by the band with mixing controlled by J.T. Longoria (KING DIAMOND, SOLITUDE AETERNUS).

Lyrically, I am concentrating more on Sumerian-based occult themes of magick and mythology versus the Celtic aspect of my previous writings, which was heavily expressed on the last few Absu studio albums. Musically speaking, the material will be quite similar to Tara, but with more of a 70s progressive/ psychedelic texture within it.


Track listing

  1. Between the Absu of Eridu & Erech
  2. Night Fire Canonization
  3. Amy
  4. Nunbarshegunu
  5. 13 Globes
  6. ...of the Dead Who Never Rest in Their Tombs Are the Attendance of Familiar Spirits... Including: A.) Diversified Signs Inscribed B.) Our Earth of Black C.) Voor
  7. Magic(k) Square Cipher
  8. In the Name of Auebothiabathabaithobeuee
  9. Girra's Temple
  10. Those of the Void Will Re-Enter
  11. Sceptre Command
  12. Ye Uttuku Spells
  13. Twix Yesterday, the Day & the Morrow


Great riffs, great rhythm, elaborate drumming, and crisp production that preserves a rich atmosphere: Absu has made another great record. - 5/5