Aura Noir - Deep Tracts of Hell (2012 Reissue) (CD)

Aura Noir - Deep Tracts of Hell (2012 Reissue) (CD)

Regular price £11.99 Sale price £8.99
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Norway's AURA NOIR was formed in 1993 by Aggressor and Apollyon in pursuit of a more thrash-based form of black metal than much of what was coming out at the time - particularly in their homeland - citing bands such as SLAYER, SODOM and KREATOR as inspirations along with purveyors of the scene such as VENOM, for a dirtier, stripped down, violent black/thrash metal sound. Their first official release was the Dreams Like Deserts EP on Hot Records in 1994, and from there-on the band has become a cult act. Deep Tracts of Hell was AURA NOIR's second album, and was originally released in 1998, taking the ferocity displayed on their debut to greater heights, with Apollyon and Aggressor each sharing drums, guitars and vocal duties between tracks. The song 'Blood Unity' was even selected by DARKTHRONE's Fenriz for his The Best of Old-School Black Metal compilation, alongside BATHORY, VENOM, CELTIC FROST, MAYHEM and others. This edition of Deep Tracts of Hell has been newly re-mastered with the assistance of the band in Oslo, and also includes 2 tracks, 'Mirage' and 'The Rape'. All members of AURA NOIR have had illustrious careers to date, with Carl-Michael Eide (Aggressor) currently heading the twisted prog band, VIRUS, Apollyon is the present bassist in IMMORTAL, and having being MAYHEM's guitarist and main writer for a long period, Blasphemer currently plays in atmospheric doom act, AVA INFERI. AURA NOIR is considered the top black/thrash act in the scene, with continued live activity planned featuring the return of Aggressor to the live line-up, having been out of action for several years.


Track listing

  1. Deep Tracts of Hell
  2. Released Damnation
  3. Swarm of Vultures
  4. Blood Unity
  5. Slasher
  6. Purification of Hell
  7. The Spiral Scar
  8. The Beautiful, Darkest Path
  9. Broth of Oblivion
  10. To Wear the Mark
  11. Mirage
  12. The Rape