Bathory - Bathory (2022 Reissue) (Cassette)

Regular price £12.50 Sale price £11.50
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Tonight, nothing is too sacred!


Track listing

  1. Storm of Damnation
  2. Hades
  3. Reaper
  4. Necromansy
  5. Sacrifice
  6. In Conspiracy with Satan
  7. Armageddon
  8. Raise the Dead
  9. War
  10. Outro


To calculate the actual sum of influence perpetuated by the 1984 Bathory debut might prove inestimable to even the keenest of logisticians, because it's seething tendrils pervade numerous niches of the metal spectrum even today. I can't tell you how many bands I hear annually, via promos or research, that would be entirely content if the whole of their careers amounted to little more than an aesthetic tribute to THIS very album. To exist as nothing other than a shadow of the late Quorthon. Is Bathory the first proper 'black metal' record as far as the fundamental principles we equate to the genre today, disregarding the titular ownership via Venom? I do believe that a strong case could be made for such, at least as good a case as for any other particular work. - 5/5