Bathory - The Return... (2022 Reissue) (Cassette)

Regular price £12.50 Sale price £10.99
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Gaze at the sky and its poisoned clouds... Listen for the sound of thunder.


Track listing

  1. Revelation of Doom
  2. Total Destruction
  3. Born for Burning
  4. The Wind of Mayhem
  5. Bestial Lust (Bitch)
  6. Possessed
  7. The Rite of Darkness
  8. Reap of Evil
  9. Son of the Damned
  10. Sadist (Tormentor)
  11. The Return of the Darkness and Evil
  12. Outro


Aesthetically, The Return... is brighter and more dynamic than the generally moody darkness prevalent on the s/t album, and here there is really no contention as to its influence on a metric shit ton of later DIY black metal recordings in the underground. Once more it's produced by Quorthon and Boss, so it stands out from the mainstream in that Bathory never had the purse or the desire for tracking down some big name producer and wider cultural acceptance. Almost messy in its determination to tear and bludgeon the listener's brain, but the bass a fraction less pronounced (in both volume and composition) than it had been before. The drums seem a lot more crashing akin to the later Blood Fire Death, lacking that subtler constant tinniness that permeated the debut, and I found that the actual structure of the guitars very often serves as a foreshadowing to that later, monumental masterwork. - 4/5