Blasphemy - Victory (Son of the Damned) (CD)

Blasphemy - Victory (Son of the Damned) (CD)

Regular price £16.00
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

This rehearsal session took place in the basement of then-bassist Bestial Saviour of the Undead Legions, and Ryan Förster captured the event by placing the MiniDisc recorder on the top of a washing machine in the room. Given the circumstances, one might erroneously assume the resulting audio quality to be inferior. On the contrary, the audio turned out to be compellingly good and thus worthy of its own release. Each instrument, including the vocals, is clearly and distinctly audible and appropriately mixed with respect to the others. What makes this release particularly unique is the first-time inclusion of the track "Victory (Son of the Damned)," from which the rehearsal now derives its name. In fact, the track is included in two consecutive iterations, as it was played back-to-back during the session in preparation for the song's live debut at the following Anza Club gig. Another feature of this recording that makes it covetable is the between-song banter among the band and guests alike, including members of BLACK WITCHERY, who attended the rehearsal. Though debate continues to this day as to which - between Fallen Angel of Doom.... and the Blood Upon the Altar demo - represents the most essential BLASPHEMY recording, Victory (Son of the Damned) promises to hold its own place atop the mantle of bestial black metal history as a snapshot in time of the world's most notorious black metal band.


Track listing

  1. War Command
  2. Blasphemous Attack / Gods of War
  3. Demoniac
  4. Victory (Son of the Damned)
  5. Victory (Son of the Damned)
  6. Goddess of Perversity
  7. Fallen Angel of Doom
  8. Darkness Prevails
  9. The Desolate One / Atomic Nuclear Desolation
  10. Desecration
  11. Weltering in Blood
  12. Blasphemy
  13. Hording of Evil Vengeance
  14. Nocturnal Slayer
  15. Ritual