Darkenhold - A Passage to the Towers... (2016 Reissue) (CD)

Darkenhold - A Passage to the Towers... (2016 Reissue) (CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Reissue of the debut DARKENHOLD album.


Track listing

  1. A Passage... (Overture)
  2. Ghouls and the Tower
  3. Marble Bestiary
  4. Citadel of Obsidian Slumber
  5. Chains of the Wyvern Shelter
  6. In the Crystal Cavern (Interlude)
  7. Cleaving the Ethereal Waves
  8. Crimson Legions
  9. Darkenhöld
  10. Sorcery
  11. Acoustic Passage
  12. Chains of the Wyvern Shelter (Mini EP Version)
  13. Marble Bestiary (Mini EP Version)
  14. For all tid (Dimmu Borgir cover)


It's not quite what one might expect of most French music of its type, hailing from a land of the unusual and surreal sounds of Deathspell Omega, Blut Aus Norde, and Peste Noire, but its effective in an entirely different light. You get the same feeling listening to this as you do when the cameras pan across the vast landscapes in fantasy films like Lord of the Rings, or the more moody and minimal majesty of Summoning, though Darkenhöld are somewhat louder and more accessible, cautiously merging each melody within the constriction of its aggressive blast beats or pinnacle climbing keyboards. There's nothing 'silly' about the album, necessarily, but it's a great pleasure to listen through, and I do hope there's not enough backlash against such a strain as this that it will be ignored. - 4/5