Dodheimsgard - Black Medium Current (Digipak CD) Dodheimsgard - Black Medium Current (Digipak CD)

Dodheimsgard - Black Medium Current (Digipak CD)

Regular price £16.99 Sale price £12.99
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with most orders



Formed 1994 in Oslo, Norway

Mind - Impression - Idea - Belief - Semblance - Reality

A journey through the boundless layers of existence, for the new studio album of indrawn, brooding black metal from the Norwegian pioneers.

Black Medium Current is the sixth studio album by longstanding Norwegian avant-garde pioneers DØDHEIMSGARD. From their influential and successful beginnings as a raw and grim black metal outfit established during the ongoing swelling of the second wave in the early-mid 90s, DØDHEIMSGARD has subsequently evolved into a truly eclectic behemoth with each landmark release; a band now undoubtedly adorned with the mastery of mood and texture through intricate, dark metallic wonderment and unnerving eloquence.

Black Medium Current continues on the path set by 2015's monumental and universally lauded A Umbra Omega album; itself a deeply poignant and potent release of vast maturity and insight. And now mastermind Yusaf Vicotnik Parvez returns with this expansive 70 minute venture through the fettered layers of the bleak existential cosmos. The result is an absorbing exploration through the fragility of the mind - nurtured and ultimately unmade through a process of belief and endless turmoil and contradiction, and how it sews itself into our reality.

Black Medium Current also represents a very personal album for Vicotnik, riding the torrents of tribulation and loss, lusciously entwined within creation. Haunting, cathartic and exquisite moments of reflection, dissected, and presented as a meticulously woven canvas of masterful and stirring music taking in a whole host of atmospheres and soundscapes encompassing the divine and the bizarre, from the depths of black metal, to sombre more classically centred piano pieces.


Track listing

  1. Et smelter
  2. Tankespinnerens smerte
  3. Interstellar Nexus
  4. It Does Not Follow
  5. Voyager
  6. Halow
  7. Det tomme kalde mørke
  8. Abyss Perihelion Transit
  9. Requiem Aeternum