Hammemit - Nature Mystic (CD) Hammemit - Nature Mystic (CD)

Hammemit - Nature Mystic (CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with most orders

Nature Mystic is the latest release from England's HAMMEMIT. Mediaeval music for modern sensibilities. Penetrating ambience drawing from the natural and historical world.

This full-length draws from two distinct eras, "Nature Mystic" (Some of the most recent Hammemit material, June - November 2008) and "Mysteries of the Church and Surrounding Environs" (A collection of older material as Hammemit and some of the last by Emit, Late 2006-Middle of 2007). Despite spanning both Emit and Hammemit the material was carefully chosen for a fluid, consistent listen.

Originally planned as a vinyl on a different label, we have preserved the design layout and present Nature Mystic in a gatefold 'digifile'.

1-4: Nature Mystic
5-10: Mysteries of the Church and Surrounding Environs


Track listing

  1. Storms
  2. Nature's beautiful ugliness
  3. Nights alone with the stars
  4. The persistent call
  5. How small they must have felt
  6. Dreamstate hagioscope
  7. Mysteries of the church
  8. A memory I wish I had
  9. Churchyard tree
  10. Beneath the ancient dust


For me Hammemit is a much maturer enterprise. Idea's less akin to the angsty youth, leaning instead towards the enlightened elder. Haunting synths flow in and out whilst ululating guitars gurgle beneath raspy, Gregorian chants. Between the vibrations lurk other instruments too, on 'Mysteries Of The Church' broken drums hide and creep at the very bottom of the mix, 'Churchyard Tree' exposes the remains of a piano piece, even the occasional woodwind instrument. This is very far removed from the early disjointed noise rehearsals - but undeniably of the same aesthetic, with a far greater understanding and musical capability to hand. - 5/5