Isengard - Vinterskugge (2020 Reissue) (CD)

Isengard - Vinterskugge (2020 Reissue) (CD)

£11.99 Sale price
Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

The debut release of folk, doom and black metal from the legendary solo project by DARKTHRONE's Fenriz.
ISENGARD was the solo-project started in 1989 by Fenriz - one the key driving forces behind Norwegian legends DARKTHRONE - because he had many musical ideas to explore that didn't strictly fit in with the style and music of DARKTHRONE. Under the ISENGARD moniker, Fenriz released 2 albums, Vinterskugge & Høstmørke.
Vinterskugge consists of 3 separate recordings made between 1989 & 1993, and contains a whole multitude of styles, including doom, rock, folk, death, black and viking metal. Vinterskugge also demonstrated Fenriz's breadth of vocal styles, lending an epic edge to many of the tracks.


Track listing

  1. Vinterskugge
  2. Gjennom skogen til blaafjellene
  3. Ut i vannets dyp hvor mørket hviler
  4. Dommedagssalme
  5. In the Halls and Chambers of Stardust the Crystallic Heavens Open
  6. Fanden lokker til stupet (Nytrad.)
  7. Naglfar
  8. Thy Gruesome Death
  9. Deathcult
  10. Rise from Below
  11. Dark Lord of Gorgoroth
  12. Trollwandering (Outro)
  13. The Fog (Early 1991)
  14. Storm of Evil
  15. Bergtrollets gravferd
  16. Our Lord Will Come


Compiling three demos in reverse chronological order, the first Isengard album, despite its disjointed nature, is one of the most excellent releases to ever emerge from Norway following the post-1991 black metal explosion. Of course, this is the solo project of Darkthrone percussionist / satanic poet Fenriz, so it's not surprising that it's so damn good. - 4/5