Kuolemanlaakso - Uljas uusi maailma (Digipak CD)

Kuolemanlaakso - Uljas uusi maailma (Digipak CD)

Regular price $13.00 Sale price $12.00
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Named after one of the lowest, driest and hottest places on Earth, KUOLEMANLAAKSO (Death Valley) took its first breath in the Spring of 2010. The band originally started out as a one-man project of guitarist Laakso (CHAOSWEAVER). Much influenced by Eparistera Daimones of TRIPTYKON, Laakso's mission was to create an utterly dark and heavy album, full of catchy hooks and originality: a tragically beautiful world all its own.
The band packed their bags in February 2012 and flew to Woodshed Studio, Germany, which is operated by none other than V. Santura of TRIPTYKON and DARK FORTRESS fame. Santura not only co-produced, mixed, mastered and engineered the crushing debut album, Uljas uusi maailma (Brave New World), but he also provided guest guitars on five tracks on it - upon his own request, as he liked the material so much.


Track listing

  1. Mina elan
  2. Kuun lapset
  3. Nostos & Algos
  4. Roihusydan
  5. Etsin
  6. Ikiuni
  7. Uljas uusi maailma
  8. Aurinko


Doom, but not funeral doom is the name of the game on their Uljas Uusi Maailma debut, trotting out those frank, rigid riffs that only work because of the jarring guitar tone provided. The simplicity in which Kuolemanlaakso operates is their primary misgiving, as they're without any breadth, just herded power chords, pumped through what is likely a 5150 at full gain. Produced by Triptykon guitarist V. Santura, Uljas Uusi Maailma has a similar dense, almost too coddled sound, much like Eparistera Daimones did, albeit with much simpler songs. - 4/5