Lysenko - Taras Bulba (Highlights) (Digipak CD) Lysenko - Taras Bulba (Highlights) (Digipak CD)

Lysenko - Taras Bulba (Highlights) (Digipak CD)

Regular price £14.00
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with most orders

Taras Bulba is an opera in four acts by the Ukrainian composer Mykola Lysenko. The libretto was written by Mykhailo Starytsky (the composer's cousin) after the novel Taras Bulba by Nikolai Gogol.

Gogol's novel tells the story of an old Zaporozhian Cossack, Taras Bulba, and his two sons, Andriy and Ostap. Taras' sons studied at the Kiev Academy and return home. The three men set out on a journey to Zaporizhian Sich located in Southern Ukraine, where they join other Cossacks and go to war against Poland.
The work is non-fictional in nature, in that the main character is based on several historical personalities, and other characters are not as exaggerated or grotesque as was common in Gogol's later fiction. This story can be understood in the context of the Romantic nationalism movement in literature, which developed around a historical ethnic culture which meets the Romantic ideal.


Track listing

  1. Overture
  2. Act 1. Scene and song of Kobzar
  3. Act 1. Scene and aria of Taras
  4. Act 1. Arioso of Andriy, scene and duet of Andriy and Ostap
  5. Act 2. Recitative and aria of Nastya
  6. Act 2. Choir of praise "Glory"
  7. Act 2. Scene and songs of Taras
  8. Act 2. Dance "Kazachok"
  9. Act 2. Arioso of Ostap
  10. Act 2. Scene of Nasty's lament and finale
  11. Act 3. Intro and choir of Zaporozhians
  12. Act 3. Recitative and aria of Andriy, duet of Andriy and Ostap
  13. Act 3. Scene with Messenger and finale of act
  14. Act 4. Intro, recitative and aria of Andriy
  15. Act 4. Aria of Maryltsya with choir
  16. Act 5. Aria of Taras
  17. Act 5. Scene of battle and Andriy's death
  18. Act 5. Aria of Ostap
  19. Scene of storm of Dubno and opera's finale