Master - Master (2020 Reissue) (2CD) Master - Master (2020 Reissue) (2CD)

Master - Master (2020 Reissue) (2CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Classic early death metal! 2-disc special edition includes:
The original un-triggered mix (Solid Sound Studios, Hoffman Estates, Illinois, 1989)
Triggered mix, the version released by Nuclear Blast in 1990 (Morrisound Studios, Tampa, Florida, 1989)
Rehearsal demo (1985)
The unreleased 1985 album (also known as Funeral Bitch)

Back in 1985 MASTER's creator Paul Speckmann had already compiled the classic songs for this debut album. Eager to get them on record, the band's management was convinced what Combat Records was offering wasn't enough, and so nothing happened. Unfortunately not until 90' did most get the pleasure of hearing the tracks, when they were (re-)recorded for Nuclear Blast! Master really never has been recognized as the world class innovators they truely are, but many bands have mentioned them as a huge influence. The funny things is that most music in the death metal genre resembles MASTER's classic work. We as fans, as well as the other bands owe a lot of respect to Paul and Master and what he helped to create.

It is hard to put it's greatness into words, this album just has an unexplainable unique atmosphere, not present on most death metal albums released since. Paul Speckmann treats the listener with very distinct and harsh vocals. More harsh even than his vocals are his lyrics, very well written, from a sarcastic / cynical point of view. As for the riffs, man is the guitar tone heavy as hell and way ahead of it's time.

Basically there are no real flaws, the only thing that had always upsets me, is that it doesn't last longer. Best songs on here have to be, well all of them. And sure as hell no death metal collection is complete without these legendary songs! So we hope we are doing this legendary album justice, because as soon as we listened to it upon its release, it became a personal favorite. We know any fan of death / thrash, old school death, or just death metal will love this.

For old school bangers that really like: KREATOR, DEATH, TERRORIZER, CELTIC FROST, ENTOMBED.


Track listing

  1. Pledge of Allegiance
  2. Unknown Soldier
  3. Mangled Dehumanization
  4. Pay to Die
  5. Funeral Bitch
  6. Master
  7. Bass Solo
  8. Children of the Grave (Black Sabbath cover)
  9. Re-Entry and Destruction
  10. Terrorizer
  11. The Truth
  12. Pay to Die
  13. Master
  14. Funeral Bitch
  15. Mangled Dehumanization
  16. Live for Free
  17. Terrorizer
  18. Rabid Anger
  19. Pledge of Allegiance
  20. Unknown Soldier
  21. Mangled Dehumanization
  22. Pay to Die
  23. Funeral Bitch
  24. Master
  25. Bass Solo
  26. Children of the Grave (Black Sabbath cover)
  27. Re-Entry and Destruction
  28. Terrorizer
  29. The Truth
  30. Master
  31. Unknown Soldier
  32. Mangled Dehumanization
  33. Funeral Bitch
  34. Terrorizer
  35. Pledge of Allegiance
  36. Re-Entry and Destruction