Mastiphal - For a Glory of all Evil Spirits Rise for Victory (2015 Reissue) (CD)

Mastiphal - For a Glory of all Evil Spirits Rise for Victory (2015 Reissue) (CD)

Regular price £8.00
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

The lesser-known Mastiphal of Katowice, Poland (not to be confused with the Mastiphal of Gdansk, Poland, from roughly the same era), followed a similar path as that previously explored by both Emperor and Graveland, both in terms of its overall sound and its use of keyboards. Although it is not as celebrated as the early works of these two bands that undoubtedly served as a primary influence on it, Mastiphal's 1995 debut album, "For a Glory of All Evil Spirits, Rise for Victory," displays many of the same traits exhibited by both. With the exception of the melancholic tracks,"Tesknota czasow minionych" and "Nad jeziorami mysli niesmiertelnej ," both of whose whispered Polish vocals add a unique touch to the album, the remaining songs on the album tend to thrive in the mid to high-mid tempos. Perhaps the highlight of these is the eight-plus-minute epic "Flames of Fire Full of Hatred," which is characterized by multiple changes in tempos and progressions and also demonstrates, with its myriad assortment of well-written and properly-executed guitar riffs, that this album is anything but one-dimensional. Further cementing the potency of this record is the space afforded between the instruments in the production. Unlike many contemporary metal recordings, which suffer to some extent from an overly compressed and dense sound, the production on this album allows each instrument room to distinguish itself from the others, thus enabling the various nuances of each to be perceived and appreciated by an attentive listener.
Since its original CD release in 1995 on Baron Records and the following year's one-off CD release by the relatively unknown Nocturn Records, "For a Glory of All Evil Spirits, Rise for Victory" has remained mostly in obscurity.


Track listing

  1. Battle
  2. For a Glory of All Evil Spirits, Rise for Victory
  3. Flames of Fire Full of Hatred
  4. Wind of Stakes
  5. Tesknota czasow minionych
  6. Calling from the Past
  7. Aim
  8. Legion
  9. Nad jeziorami mysli niesmiertelnej


Mastiphal hail from Poland, and play a black metal style that sounds kind of like a mix of Arcturus and Accursed. The approach is similar to both bands, but perhaps less synth-dominated. - 4/5