Mercyful Fate - Don't Break the Oath (1997 Reissue) (CD)

Mercyful Fate - Don't Break the Oath (1997 Reissue) (CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

The epic second MERCYFUL FATE album and as with Melissa a year before... essential!!


Track listing

  1. A Dangerous Meeting
  2. Nightmare
  3. Desecration of Souls
  4. Night of the Unborn
  5. The Oath
  6. Gypsy
  7. Welcome Princess of Hell
  8. To One Far Away
  9. Come to the Sabbath
  10. Death Kiss Bonus


All of Mercyful Fate's potential was fulfilled on Don't Break the Oath, a doomy, gothic collection of post-Priest/Maiden black metal preoccupied with Satan and the occult. Hank Shermann and Michael Denner keep their progressive rock tendencies reigned in while still delivering plenty of the neo-classical feel that gives the music its atmosphere, and King Diamond uses his vocal range to great theatrical effect. Fate's sound and attitude were highly influential on later gothic/black metal bands, especially in Europe, and Don't Break the Oath consistently encapsulates their appeal. - 5/5