Rage - Speak of the Dead (Digipak CD)

Rage - Speak of the Dead (Digipak CD)

Regular price $20.00 Sale price $13.00
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Limited edition digipack including 2 bonus tracks and videoclip.

The new album "Speak Of The Dead" is the next step in the long running track record of the international three-piece. The technical abilities of the "new" line up (this is already the fourth album with Victor Smolski (Guitar, ex-Mind Odyssey) and Mike Terrana (Drums, Axel Rudi Pell, etc.) are nearly incredible. Previous albums like "Unity" or "Soundchaser" showed that the guys still have new ideas and fresh influences. This time, RAGE revitalized an old idea in order to build something huge. "Suite Lingua Mortis" (divided into eight parts), with which "Speak Of The Dead" begins, is the continuation of the classic influenced period of RAGE. Albums like "Lingua Mortis", "XIII" or "Ghosts" had a big impact on the metal scene. The suite on the new album was recorded with the symphonic orchestra of the city of Minsk (White Russia, where Victor is from) - and it just sounds amazing!

The second part of the album contains powerful and progressive metal songs in the vein of the last two albums - except for the more varied song writing. Tracks like "Soul Survivor" or "Full Moon" are both impressive statements of really massive riffing and catchy hooks. "Full Moon" was also recorded in different languages (spanish, russian, german, etc.), which can be heard on the special editions of the record.


Track listing

  1. Suite Lingua Mortis (Part 1: Mortituri te Salutant)
  2. Suite Lingua Mortis (Part 2: Prelude of Souls)
  3. Suite Lingua Mortis (Part 3: Innocent)
  4. Suite Lingua Mortis (Part 4: Depression)
  5. Suite Lingua Mortis (Part 5: No Regrets)
  6. Suite Lingua Mortis (Part 6: Confusion)
  7. Suite Lingua Mortis (Part 7: Black)
  8. Suite Lingua Mortis (Part 8: Beauty)
  9. No Fear
  10. Soul Survivor
  11. Full Moon
  12. Kill Your Gods
  13. Turn My World Around
  14. Be with Me or Be Gone
  15. Speak of the Dead
  16. La Luna Reine (Spanish version of Full Moon)
  17. Vollmond (German version of Full Moon)


I won't conjecture as to how the band changed with Mike Terrana's departure after this album, but I sure miss the glory days with him behind the drum kit. Regardless, with Speak Of The Dead, Rage has properly evolved into a band that not only handles its core sound well, but can excel with new sounds. It's definitely got a dual personality, but it's also one of the several high points in the band's career. Highly recommended for nearly any fan of melodic metal, or if you've liked anything that Rage has ever done. - 4/5