Roky Erickson - Roky Erickson and The Aliens (2012 Reissue) (CD)

Roky Erickson - Roky Erickson and The Aliens (2012 Reissue) (CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

A rock classic from the brilliant Roky Erickson (1947-2019). This album is known variously as Roky Erickson and The Aliens and Five Symbols and was first released in 1980 in the UK by CBS. The Evil One, which shares five of the same songs, was released in the US the following year. The full combination of these songs were then released as The Evil One from the late Eighties on. This specific CD features the original 10-song UK tracklist plus two bonus tracks - "The Wind And More" and "Bloody Hammer" - from The Evil One. Make sense? All I know is you will feel his bite.

The horror-struck rock 'n' roll madness of Roky Erickson. The 1980 album from former 13TH FLOOR ELEVATORS' main man hailed in Mojo magazine as a buried treasure kicks of the label's Buried Treasure series. Featuring the original ten tracks plus two additional Erickson originals from the period. An insight into the 'scrambled brain' of this rock genius' bizarre and often brilliant solo career. Obsessed with sci-fi and horror images, this gritty gem covers Satan, Lucifer, alligators, vampires, demons and zombies along the way. With extensive sleevenotes and an introduction by Mojo editor Phil Alexander.
This LP was the first release by Roky Erickson and the Aliens, some of the same songs and others from this session were later released as The Evil One the following year.


Track listing

  1. Two-Headed Dog (Red Temple Prayer)
  2. I Think of Demons
  3. I Walked With a Zombie
  4. Don't Shake Me Lucifer
  5. Night of the Vampire
  6. White Faces
  7. Cold Night for Alligators
  8. Creature With the Atom Brain
  9. Mine Mine Mind
  10. Stand for the Fire Demon
  11. The Wind and More
  12. Bloody Hammer


...this is a timely release, and provides an opportunity to actually listen to the music that Erickson created; forget the headline grabbing tales of madness, look a little deeper - you will enjoy what you discover. - 5/5