Various - Dark Side of the Sacred Star (2CD)

Various - Dark Side of the Sacred Star (2CD)

Regular price £11.00
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Peaceville presents a very special collection of tracks from the more black metal-oriented acts on the label, featuring a variety of new and recent bands such as RUïM (featuring former MAYHEM guitarist Blasphemer), HELLRIPPER, MORK, DOEDSMAGHIRD (the new project of DHG's Vicotnik and evil twin to his main band) & AVMAKT, among firmly established legendary acts and influential names such as DARKTHRONE, MORTEM, SIGH, MORTUARY DRAPE & DØDHEIMSGARD, with plenty of great showcases for what is to come in 2023, and also including a majority of exclusives, and special surprise inclusions from the enigmatic Norwegian band KVIST, and the pioneering riffs of Snorre Ruch of THORNS.

Alongside the stellar list of acts covering much of the current black metal Peaceville roster, CD2 is an amazing deep dive into the abyss of history, focussing on what the 1990's had to offer, covering Peaceville's current catalogue. Seen as a golden period for many, in which the genre reached its notorious heights, and its burgeoning evolution, we witness true leaders of the early scene such as the Nordic kings MAYHEM and DARKTHRONE, Greece's own abyssic black metal originators ROTTING CHRIST, the distinctive genius riffing style of Snorre Ruch of THORNS and Japan's premiere black metal act SIGH, through to bands rising to prominence in the mid 90's, from the dark brilliance of DØDHEIMSGARD, to the insane industrial satanic power of MYSTICUM, the blackened thrash masterclass of AURA NOIR, raw grimness of FIMBULWINTER, and the medieval tinged majesty of GODKILLER. Each track stands as a landmark and mini piece of history itself.

Includes 20 page booklet featuring background information on the bands involved.


Track listing

  1. Mortem - Aftermath
  2. RuïM - O sino da igreja (Threat Mix)
  3. Darkthrone - Impeccable Caverns of Satan (Edit)
  4. Sigh - Mayonaka No Kaii (Alternate Vocal)
  5. Doedsmaghird - Then, To Darkness Return
  6. Kvist - Gærne sia av fjorden (Demo)
  7. Mork - Alrunens hevn
  8. Mortuary Drape - The Secret Lost
  9. Avmakt - Bitter Carved Hollow
  10. Hellripper - Mephistophelian Dreams (2022)
  11. Dødheimsgard - Stemmen fra evigheten
  12. Snorre Ruch - Helvete Theme
  13. Mortem - Intro
  14. Mayhem - Carnage
  15. Rotting Christ - Feast of the Grand Whore
  16. Thorns - Ærie Descent
  17. Darkthrone - Unholy Black Metal
  18. Sigh - The Knell
  19. Thou Art Lord - Warhammer
  20. Fimbulwinter - Black Metal Storm
  21. Carpathian Forest - The Pale Mist Hovers Towards the Nightly Shores
  22. Dødheimsgard - Starcaves Depths & Chained
  23. Aura Noir - Mirage
  24. Fleurety - Hvileløs?
  25. Mysticum - In Your Grave
  26. Diabolical Masquerade - The Sphere in Blackheim's Shrine
  27. Godkiller - From the Castle in the Fog
  28. Kvist - Svartedal
  29. Obtained Enslavement - The Seven Witches
  30. Keep of Kalessin - Through Times of War
  31. Gehenna - The Killing Kind
  32. Taake - V
  33. Emperor - Exordium