Wallachia - Shunya (CD)

Wallachia - Shunya (CD)

Tax included.
Currently unavailable
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

The cult of WALLACHIA returns with stunning third full-length, "Shunya", comprising eight exhibits of melancholic Black Metal with a catchy, symphonic touch. "Shunya" is an introspective, instantly-accessible metal album that stays faithful to the epic-sounding natural rawness that has been WALLACHIA's trademark since the mid-90s. The rich harvest of one man's expansive vision, this inimitable album represents a personal, emotional voyage of discovery, based on experiences of loss and displacement, driven by the spirit to overcome all obstacles. A theme of emptiness permeates the music - as it does the outside world. The term "Shunya" is borrowed from the Sanskrit language and means 'empty' or 'void', as well as resembling the number zero from Indian numerology. WALLACHIA's latest and most ambitious work identifies the nothingness that exists in everything when modern technology takes hold and the essential spiritual value of ancient art(s) is forever lost.


Track listing

  1. Dual Nothingness
  2. Gloria in Excelsis Ego
  3. Ksatriya
  4. Enlightened by Deception
  5. Hypotheist
  6. Nostalgia Among the Ruins of Common Sense
  7. Harbinger of Vacuumanity
  8. Emotional Ground Zero


WALLACHIA's third opus, Shunya, should appeal to fans of symphonic Black Metal acts like CARACH ANGREN. While the band does suffer from a bit of schizophrenia in the vocal department, Shunya is a very consistently enjoyable album. Perhaps die hard and true Black Metal fans will shrug this off as being too far reaching and too far away from the realms of standard Black Metal, but those adventurous souls not afraid of some outside influence will find a very mature, well written and well played album full of orchestral Black Metal with prog and folk touches. - 5/5