Williams - On Wenlock Edge, Fantasia on a Theme (CD)

Williams - On Wenlock Edge, Fantasia on a Theme (CD)

Regular price $7.00
Tax included.
In stock
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £39
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 - 1958) was an English composer of symphonies, chamber music, opera, choral music, and film scores. He was also a collector of English folk music and song: this activity both influenced his editorial approach to the English Hymnal, beginning in 1904, in which he included many folk song arrangements set as hymn tunes, and also influenced several of his own original compositions.

Norfolk Rhapsody No. 1 in E Minor (1906, rev. 1914) is an orchestral rhapsody by Ralph Vaughan Williams based on folk songs he had collected in the English county of Norfolk, in particular in the port town of King's Lynn and the surrounding region.


Track listing

  1. Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
  2. Norfolk Rhapsody No. 1 in E minor
  3. The Lark Ascending
  4. In the Fen Country - Symphonic Impression
  5. I. On Wenlock Edge
  6. II. From far, from eve and morning
  7. III. Is my team ploughing?
  8. IV. Oh, when I was in love with you
  9. V. Bredon Hill
  10. VI. Clun