Xasthur - Portal of Sorrow (2021 Reissue) (2LP)

Xasthur - Portal of Sorrow (2021 Reissue) (2LP)

Regular price £35.99
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

"...I wanted to end on a better note with this Portal of Sorrow album because the album that came before it, All reflections drained, was not up to par and I couldn't finish up with an album that I was less than satisfied with. Now, I suppose any or all goals have been reached and there is nothing more I wish to try with Xasthur and it's time to move on..."

The lineup for this recording:
Scott - all instruments, vocals, lyrics, music
Marissa Nadler - choir, vocal flashbacks, vocal instrumentation
Pete Traux - 2 guitar solos

Portal of Sorrow is the final Xasthur album, the project which began in 1996 has concluded.

In hindsight, XASTHUR were foreshadowing their later evolution with album #8 "Portal of Sorrow". Although this 2010 release continues in the well-established downcast black metal mould, the full-length develops a restless touch that might reflect the artist's search for new ways of expression, which would eventually lead to a complete re-invention. XASTHUR were originally created by vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Scott Conner in California, USA in the year 1995. Setting out as a depressive black metal project in the wake of the Scandinavian second wave, XASTHUR established a reputation as pioneers and spearheads of USBM over the course of nine albums, a host of split-singles, EPs, and occasional demos. In 2010, Scott closed this chapter by announcing the end of XASTHUR. After returning with an acoustic dark folk project under the banner of NOCTURNAL POISONING, the enigmatic frontman revived the name XASTHUR, but declared his black metal days to be gone for good, while moving on to dark modern folk style deeply imbued with assorted musical and literal Americana.


Track listing

  1. Portal of Sorrow
  2. Broken Glass Christening
  3. Shrine of Failure
  4. Stream of Subconsciousness
  5. Karma/Death
  6. Horizon of Plastic Caskets
  7. Mesmerized by Misery
  8. This Abyss Holds the Mirror
  9. Mourning Tomorrow
  10. Miscarriage of the Soul
  11. Obeyer's of Their Own Deaths
  12. Released from This Earth
  13. The Darkest Light
  14. Hiver de Glace