Wolcensmen - Songs from the Fyrgen (2018 Reissue) (Digipak 2CD)

Wolcensmen - Songs from the Fyrgen (2018 Reissue) (Digipak 2CD)

Regular price £14.00
Tax included.
Ships worldwide
Eligible for FREE delivery on UK orders over £30
Special offer
Choose a Free Gift with any order over £5

Founded upon a passion for dark acoustic music and folklore, WOLCENSMEN began life in 2013. Dan Capp, a guitarist from England (who went on to join black metal band WINTERFYLLETH) undertook the work of resurrecting old acoustic ideas he'd written since the late '90s, inspired largely by Scandinavian bands who had pioneered the inclusion of folk and neo-classical elements within their sound. WOLCENSMEN became the vehicle for expressing spiritual philosophies and a specific musical atmosphere.

A self-produced demo captured the imagination of underground music fans, and Dungeon Synth label Deivlforst Records assisted in making the demo available again after its limited initial run. In 2015 work began on the debut album, which was released in November of the following year by the name Songs from the Fyrgen. The CD pressing sold out within six months and the album received widespread acclaim, with some quickly considering it a classic of the genre.

In 2017, WOLCENSMEN was brought to the attention of Norwegian label Indie Recordings who saw the need for a reissue of Songs from the Fyrgen; remixed and remastered, and with proper marketing and distribution. The album will be re-released on November 30 2018 with a bonus disc of brand new songs, including a rendition of the Bathory classic "Man of Iron".

WOLCENSMEN is part of the revival of interest in old European spirituality; a sincere expression of mysticism and superstition, and an approach to songwriting which aims to bring near-forgotten things back from the mists of time.


Track listing

  1. Withershins
  2. The Fyre-Bough
  3. Sunne
  4. Hoofes Upon the Shymmeringe Path
  5. 'Neath a Wreath of Firs
  6. The Mon o' Micht
  7. Snowfall
  8. The Bekens are Aliht
  9. Yerninge
  10. The Ferryman Bonus
  11. Lady of the Depe Bonus
  12. The Greene Wall Bonus
  13. Beholdinge, He... Bonus
  14. Man of Iron (Bathory cover) Bonus